Essie Madison Ave-Hue Swatches & Review

Today I have swatches of all six polishes in Essie’s Spring 2013 Madison Ave-Hue Collection. I really like the combination of soft pastels with a couple of bold colors thrown in. A few went on streaky, but all were perfect in two coats. I thought the formula was really nice and easy.

Madison Ave-Hue is a bright pink with a subtle silvery shimmer. If you’ve read WPP for long, then you know I can never have enough bottles of this particular pink! The shimmer really makes this one.

Essie Madison Ave-Hue

Essie describes Go Ginza as a soft cherry blossom color. That description makes me think “pink” and this is more lavender to me. Super pale and delicate.

Essie Go Ginza

Hip-Anema is poppy red orange crème. It’s really a fun and bright shade.

Essie Hip-Anema

Bond With Whomever is a few shades is a darker version of Go Ginza. Pretty…but for some reason I had the hardest time applying and photographing this one.

Essie Bond with Whomever

Maximillian Strasse Her was the one I looked forward to the most. It’s a cool grey green. I don’t have anything like it!

Essie Maximillan Strausse Her

And last but not least…Avenue Maintain turned out to be my favorite! This French blue shade is perfectly between pastel and cerulean.

Essie Avenue Maintain

I’ve always favored Essie’s thinner consistency and small brush. Overall, I’m really happy with this collection.  In my opinion, there’s not a dud in the bunch! So what do you think?

Disclosure: I have no material connection to the products used in this post.

43 responses to “Essie Madison Ave-Hue Swatches & Review

  1. Ohhhh I didn’t think I’d love these but I definitely need all of them now! hahah or maybe just Maximillian Strasse Her and Madison Ave-Hue.

  2. The only other Essie polish I owned before Hip-anema was a glitter, but I found Hip-anema in a discount bin at my grocery store for $3 so I of course bought it, and I’m in love! The color is so bright I can’t stop staring at my nails! I did my usual routine: OPI No chip, China Glaze base coat, two coats of color, and two coats of Seche Vite. Usually my mani will last 3 or 4 days before it begins to chip like crazy. But I’m on my 7th day with this Essie polish and only have one minuscule chip. I definitely say it was worth it; I may start to buy Essie at full-price if they’re all this lasting. ;)

    • That’s great news! You found Hip-Anema in a clearance bin already. Score!! Some people aren’t fans of the consistency of Essie…but I’ve really grown to love it.

  3. I liked the Bond With Whomever until you said it was difficult to apply (if you have trouble, what’s that mean for us regular nail painting gals?!) but then I scrolled down and instantly fell for Maximillian. So different and fresh!

  4. Beautiful! I just picked up hip anema on Sunday and I really can’t wait to wear it! Go ginza is another pretty one…might just have to get that one too!

  5. Silly names but pretty polishes. I ended up getting all of these after seeing them in the store. Well, I hadn’t meant to get them all, I picked up 2 and brought them home but then after seeing swatches I picked up another and then a few days later yet another until I had them all. So far my favorite is Avenue Maintain.

    • It’s funny how that works, isn’t it? How we end up with full collections after telling ourselves it won’t happen? You know what’s sillier than the names is the descriptions. I almost included them in my post but they were too weird to take up real estate!

  6. I love the colours (the shimmer in the pink is n i c e) but they all look a little cool to me (?)….I need warmer colours to prevend lobster hands……

Comments are closed.