Digit-al Dozen Does Animal Week: Abstract Koi Fish

Disclosure: Some products in this post were provided by the manufacturer, their PR firm or retailer for my review.

Yay! It’s another Digit-al Dozen nail art week! This month’s theme is animals. We had to adjust the wording of our post titles this week for obvious reasons. Our typical lead in of “Digit-al Dozen Does [theme]” just wouldn’t have been right. Man, I laugh out loud every time I think about it though. Thank goodness someone noticed because I’m oblivious! So on to my first mani…it’s pretty abstract but that’s what I love about it! See the koi fish?

Abstract Koi Fish Nail Art

I recently saw a textile that had this theme and color scheme. (I wish I had a picture to show you!) The second I saw it, I said to myself “Oooh…that background is Neely!” (as in Zoya Neely from the Spring Lovely Collection). What can I say? I see the world through polish goggles. So the base is two coats of Neely. I did some accents with OPI Berlin There Done That (but most are covered up), outlined them with a Color Club white striper and top coated it. Then I used a sloppy mix (I didn’t stir it up) of Pure Ice Can’t Stop and OPI Berlin There Done That to dab on the abstract fish shapes. After it was dry, I used white acrylic paint to quickly sketch the fish outlines.

Abstract Koi Fish Nail Art

I didn’t top coat the last step because I like the effect. You have to view the big pics to see how dimensional it is. I couldn’t stop looking it! This was a tough theme week for me. I hope you like what I came up with. Be sure to check out the other animal masterpieces from the rest of the Digit-al Dozen!


Digit-al Dozen

Disclosure: Some products in this post were provided by the manufacturer, their PR firm or retailer for my review. For more information, please see my disclosure policy.

27 responses to “Digit-al Dozen Does Animal Week: Abstract Koi Fish

  1. This is my favorite mani. Wish I could duplicate it. Very Asian looking and Koi was exactly what I saw as soon as I opened your site. Great job!

    • Thanks, Cindy. That’s what I love about it…the texture. The thumb had the best fish, but I couldn’t get a good shot without looking like a hitchhiker. :P

    • Thanks Emma!! Polish goggles…yup…that’s how I describe car colors too. And if another polish addict is around they’re all like “YES. TOTALLY. That car is totally Essie Jazz.”

Comments are closed.